Ono Says ‘Time Is Right’ for Onimusha

Posted: February 6, 2011 by Liam Griffiths in News

 

Yes, that IS Jean Reno.

As a fan of the late Onimusha trilogy, I am pleased to hear that Capcom’s Yoshinori Ono has revealed he believes the ‘time is right’ to revive the series. Ono has even hinted at some sort of multiplayer element, though he says ideas haven’t even been finalised yet on which direction they want to take with the series, if any at all. Here’s what Ono actually said:

“It feels like it’s the time to resurrect that series. But I wouldn’t want to do the things we’ve done before. I think it might be time to progress beyond the standard single-player adventure. There should be ways to expand upon what we’ve done while involving the community more.

“Perhaps implement some sort of multiplayer into a game like that. I don’t have those ideas solidified yet, but when these ideas come to fruition, when I feel good about them and I feel we can do something, I will most certainly take them in for approval with the higher-ups. It’s something I’m very interested in doing.”

I would be very interested in seeing where they would take the series, especially if they pursue this multi-player angle. In the meantime, it’s probably worth playing through the past games, if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

